TCC blue background

Surgical Demonstration Day



The 2020 event has been caneled.

Surgical Demonstrations for 2019.

There has been in a change this year regarding our annual Surgical Demonstrations at Tacoma Community College due to key position vacancies during our spring term. The Science program at TCC is not hosting the annual Surgical Demonstration Day for 2019. We fully intend to hold the event again in the Spring of 2020.

Gavan AlbrightSurgical Demonstrations for 2018.

May 18, 2018, the Math, Science, and Engineering Division hosted its annual Surgical Demonstration with 393 students from 22 high schools and 2 colleges.

This year besides our professional and skilled Prosection presenters, under the guidance of Professor Gavan Albright (pictured at right), we had student ambassadors from our Engr 104 class who provided STEM activities throughout the day along with our ASME students representatives. Our division also coordinated with Stephanie Thompson, the Allied Health Coordinator who was able to give tours of the Allied Health Building to some high school attendees.

Thank you to the high schools who attended: Bethel, Black Hills, Bremerton, Cascade Christian, Central Kitsap, Kalough, Curtis, Franklin Pierce, Gig Harbor, Graham Kapowsin, Lakes, Life Christian, Peninsula, Puyallup, Rodgers, SAMI, South Kitsap, Spanaway Lake, Stadium, Tacoma Baptist, White River, and Wilson. Thank you to both colleges that attended: Bates Technical and Centralia College.Dr. Rowan R. Sheldon, Resident Surgeon at Madigan Army Medical Center provided some instruction and training. The student team for the quarter was under the guideship of Professor Gavan Albright. The student presenters were the following:  

Prosection Team for 2018

Resuscitative Thoracotomy  
 Single Anastomis Duodenal Switch
Gretchen Neuert Cecilia Luna Kanitra Jones
Tami Lepping                                                               Parker Rojas  Alexis Moore
 Kaitlin Gale Ashley Laughlin  Mariya Shapran
 Kaitlin Calvert  Megan Gurr  Sarah MacInnis
 Aaron Schaefer  Tatyana Vysotskiy  Allyson Ericksen

Volunteer Tour Guides

Prof.  Anna Cunningham  Prof. Diane Palmquist Prof. Kim Metzler
Prof. Mark Allen Prof. Phil Hunter Prof. Adrian Singh
Prof. Kim Harrington  Prof. Matt Anderson Prof. Heather Cushman
Prof. Ken Cushman Prof. Matt Higgins Student Guide Rain Coley
Student Guide Gabe Santana Student Guide Brandon Carlson-Clarke   

Thanks also to the lab technician staff who made safety a top priority and facilitated a smooth and enjoyable experience for the students. Lab Technician Supervisor, Diane Valdez; Lab Tech, Susan Bennett, and Lab Tech, Lora Oas.  

Not to be overlooked: Thanks for giving their time to meet, greet, and check-in students: Professor Pattie Green, Professor Kristen Harrison, Professor Jeff Engle, and Professor Matt Anderson, Dean Joe Shannon, and Dean's Assistant Patrice Bunge and Division Secretary, Molly Hagan. See you all next year!