Vision. Focus. Future.
Tacoma Community College: 2019-2024 Strategic Plan

Tacoma Community College has served the community since 1965. More than 500,000 students have earned their associate’s degree to transfer to a four-year university or professional-technical certificate to embark on a new career. Others have come to TCC to learn English, get high school and college credentials or start fresh. Many of our students are adult learners, people who seek a better life and career through a college education. At TCC, our doors are always open and accessible to anyone who wishes to learn.

Much has changed since we opened the first college building in 1965. But our spirit has remained the same. At TCC, we are welcoming, supportive and committed to student success. This spirit is an important piece of us. And it’ll be our guide as we work to build our new 2019-2024 Strategic Plan.

Our Plan for the Future

TCC has launched its process to create a new strategic plan that not only reflects our values and commitment, but ensures success for each and every one of our students.

TCC has partnered with CampusWorks, Inc., along with a campus-wide steering committee who are led by three appointed tri-chairs to create a plan that will carry us strong into the future.

Next Steps 

TCC recently held its Future Summit on Jan. 30, 2019. The Future Summit was an event where we invited the Tacoma community to give us guidance on the future direction of TCC. It's an important part of our strategic planning process. The event sold out, with more than 450 students, staff, faculty and community members who attended. The event featured community speakers and all members took part in small-group discussions, where they developed a series of impact statements that  informed our strategic plan. 

Now, groups called "Scan Teams" have been assigned to the impact statements that were developed from the Future Summit. The impact statements are:

Community partnerships that address the needs of the whole student

Bridging diversity gaps and improving retention with peer advocates/mentors
Eliminating enrollment barriers for everyone: Equity and inclusivity
Models for hiring, retaining and advancing qualified, diverse faculty and staff
Helping adults living at or below the poverty line with education that allows them to earn a living wage
Innovative programs for meeting students where they are

The Scan Teams will work to build a deeper understanding of their assigned impact statement. Their research of best practices and contemporary models will further inform the development of TCC's Strategic Plan. This work is expected to be complete in March. 

TCC Student Experience Statement

As part of the Student Experience Workshop, this statement (doc) (pdf) was crafted and reviewed by staff, faculty and students and the Strategic Planning Committee to guide TCC to help make our students’ experience meaningful and impactful. This is our pledge to TCC students.


General Timeline

Nov. 12-16, 2018 Strategic Plan kick-off with CampusWorks, Inc., students, faculty and staff 
Jan. 30, 2019 TCC Future Summit. Our event sold out!  Thank you to the 450+ students, staff, faculty and community members who attended. 
February 2019 Scan Team focus on the six impact statements that were developed from the TCC Future Summit
February 2019 Values survey for staff and faculty
April  11, 2019 Values workshop for all staff, 2-5pm, Student Center 
April 11, 2019 TCC Student Focus Group, 12:30-1:30pm, Lunch, Building 9 
April 12, 2019 Scan Team Presentations
April 25, 2019 Scan to Plan Workshop
April 26, 2019 Strategic Planning Discussion at Professional Development Day 
May 2, 2019 Strategic Planning Committee Meeting
May 13-24, 2019 Mission/Vision/Values/ Strategies Survey
June 6, 2019 Strategic Planning Committee Meeting
June 11, 2019 Community Focus Groups 
June 18, 2019 Strategic Planning Committee Meeting
Aug. 1, 2019 Strategic Planning Committee Meeting
Sept. 5, 2019 Strategic Planning Committee Meeting
Sept. 16, 2019 Strategic Plan Unveil at Fall Professional Development Day event 
October 2019 2019-2024 Strategic Plan approval vote by TCC Board of Trustees 


Strategic Plan Tri-Chairs


Analea BrauburgerAnalea Brauburger

Dean, Organizational Learning and Effectiveness

Ashley CaughellAshley Caughell

Program Specialist, TCC Athletics 

Sopang MenSopang Men

Professor, Communication and Transitional Studies


Other members of the Strategic Plan team 

CampusWorks Facilitators:

  • Kevin David, PhD, Portfolio Executive Leader, CampusWorks, Inc.
    Kevin is a seasoned higher education professional whose experience both in the classroom and in administrative leadership roles has given him broad insight into teaching and learning, student development, guided pathways, strategic planning, accreditation, and institutional effectiveness. Over his 15 years in higher education, Kevin has been a full-time faculty member at two universities and served as the Director of Planning and Institutional Research, Associate Vice President for Institutional Effectiveness, and Provost at Tulsa Community College. He earned a BA in Psychology from SUNY Cortland and an MS and PhD in Developmental Psychology from the University of Oklahoma.
  • Liz Murphy, Chairman and Chief Evangelist, CampusWorks, Inc.
    Liz Murphy joined CampusWorks in 2011, bringing with her 22 years of experience at Datatel (now Ellucian) where she most recently served as the chief client officer. Liz, a former president of the Alliance for Innovation & Transformation (AFIT), currently serves as a board member of both Community College Business Officers (CCBO) and Quality Matters. Liz earned a BA from the University of Scranton and an MA in Executive Management from the University of Maryland.

Logistics Liaison:  Loo-Moy Call, Assistant, Organizational Learning and Effectiveness

Communications Liaison: Tamyra Howser, Director, Marketing and Communication

TCC Strategic Plan Steering Committee:

Iyad Alaqrabawi, Susan Bennett, Lynette Crumity, Julie Dunbar, Sabine Endicott, Mary Fox, Charlene Gore, Katie Gulliford, Ralph Hitz, Dave Howard, Victoria Ichungwa, Joanne Iverson, Stephen Johns, Melanie Johnson, Meredith LaFlesh, Denise Levine, Sarah Lewandowski-Noble, Patricia Mede, James Mendoza, Monica Monk, Sonja Morgan, Sakura Moses, Sheila Northrop, Carlos Otero, Scott Perkins, Kenneth Pimpleton, Nora Price, Sharon Rivera, Margaret Robinson, Sultana Shabazz, Steven Simpson, Christopher Soran, Ndeye Sow, Katrina Taylor, Samuel Taylor, Candice Watkins, James Reisdorf, Lorraine Parrish