image of flags

TCC Honorary Degree


Bestowed at Commencement, the TCC Honorary Degree typically recognizes a friend of the college who creates connection between the college and the larger community, fostering the community’s goodwill toward the college. Previous Honorary Degree recipients have been involved in fundraising and philanthropy, leadership through the Board of Trustees or TCC Foundation Board, instruction, administration, or advisory work, and other capacities.

Previous TCC Honorary Degree Recipients 


Wayne Williams, Throughout his long career, which includes 15 years at TCC, Wayne Williams advocated for equity and promoted a climate of multicultural understanding and appreciation.


Chad Wright, Former TCC Trustee

2014 Fred Whang, Former TCC Trustee
2013 Les & Estelle Reid, TCC supporters
2012 Dan Small, Former Vice President TCC Foundation, 35 years at TCC

2011 (2)

Joe Harned, TCC supporter/Harned Health Bldg and
Rep. Laurie Jinkins, Former TCC Trustee

2010 (2)

Pat Shuman, Former TCC employee and TCC Foundation Board member and 
Dave Edwards, Former TCC Trustee

2009 Rep. Derek Kilmer, Former TCC trustee
2008  Jeanette & Ron Lunceford, Former TCC employees and TCC Foundation members


Charlie McManus & Jacqeline Plattner, Owners Primo Grill and TCC art scholarships supporter 

2006 Frank Garratt
2005 Wendy Phillips, Foundation President
2004 (2) John Lantz, Former TCC board member and
Jim Walton, Tacoma City Manager
2003 Bob Thaden Former Faculty member
2002  Margaret Oldfield, Actively involved in community and TCC

2001 (2)

Dennis Seinfeld, Former TCC Board member (14 years) and
Dr. Ron Magden, Retired Founding Faculty member/Social & Behavioral Sciences Chair 


Dr. Laura J. Polcyn, VP of Admissions & Enrollment at PLU; served on TCC advisory committees for 25+ years; strong educational advocate

1999 (2) Herman & Barbara Kleiner, Actively involved in TCC International Students Program

1998 (2)

Annette Weyerhaeuser, Active in TCC Foundation and Joseph Kosai, Former TCC instructor and administrator

1997 Pat Loth, Retired Classified Staff employee (30 years)
1996 Richard Collier, TCC benefactor/friend of the college
1995 (2) Griselda (Babe) Lehrer, TCC Foundation member and 
Carl Brown, Former TCC Dean of Student Support Services
1994 Dr. Thornton Ford (Tom), Former TCC President
1993 Dr. Angelo Giaudrone, Pierce County educator; Tacoma Public Schools; instrumental in starting community college(s) in Tacoma
1992 Robert Hunt (Bob) Former TCC Board member