main photo

About the GED

GED stands for General Educational Development. It is a series of 5 tests that measure achievement in 5 major areas of high school education. Passing indicates high-school equivalent knowledge and skills.

Most employers and colleges, including TCC, accept GED certificates. Some colleges and professions will require higher scores than the minimum passing scores. The testing office has more information.

The 5 Test Sections

  •  Writing 50 items plus essay: 2 hours
  •  Mathematics 50 items: 1 hour, 30 minutes (2 parts)
  •  Social Studies 50 items: 1 hour, 10 minutes
  •  Science 50 items: 1 hour, 20 minutes
  •  Reading 40 items: 1 hour, 5 minutes


The GED test is open to the public. Eligibility requirements are as follows:

  • Anyone who has not graduated from high school and is 19 years of age or older may take the GED.
  • 16 to 18 years old Washington residents must get a “Request for Approval to Test General Educational Development Certificate” signed by a local high school official.
  • Home schooled students need a notarized statement from a parent.
  • Those age 15 or under are not eligible to take the GED in Washington.
Please consider rating the content on this page:
Poor Outstanding
Your comments about the content on this page:

If you would like us to get back with you, please share your email address (optional):