main photo


2016-2017 Tuition Rates (US Dollars)

(on waiver*)
Senior Citizens (for credit)

* Non Resident (on waiver) - student must be US citizen or permanent resident. Contact Enrollment Services for complete details.

Student approved fees included in tuition:

  • Student Center, Bldg. 11 Improvements: $1.50 per credit to 10 credits, maximum rate $15.00
  • Early Childhood Education/Child Care Bldg.: $1.25 per credit to 10 credits, maximum rate $12.50

Student approved fees added at time of registration:

  • Facility Fee - $.50 per credit to 15 credits, maximum rate $7.50
  • Technology Fee - $1.75 per credit to 10 credits, maximum rate $17.50
  • Safety Fee - $15.00 per student
  • Health & Wellness Center Fee - $3.00 per credit to 10 credits, maximum rate $30.00
  • Course Fees - as displayed in class schedule for individual classes

Please note:

  • Tuition rates subject to change by the Washington State Legislature. 
  • Tuition and fees are due at the time of registration and payment must be completed within 2 business days of registration. Continuing students and new students who register early may defer fee payment until the published deferment date (see calendar). 
  • Some courses have additional fees assessed. 
  • Washington Online (WAOL) students are assessed an additional fee of $8.00 per credit. This fee is non-refundable once the course begins. 
  • U.S. citizens and permanent residents who have not yet established Washington residency may now attend TCC at a reduced rate. This optional waiver has been approved by the TCC Board of Trustees, but may not be available at all state colleges. A student who plans to transfer to a college that does not participate in this waiver is advised to establish Washington residency before transfer. Residency information is available at the Admissions Counter.

Payment Options

  • In person. Stop by the Cashier's Office in Bldg. 14 between the hours of 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. Monday through Friday. The Cashier's Office accepts the following forms of payments only: cash, money orders, and checks. The college is closed every Friday during Summer quarter.
  • Online. Tuition payments can be made in ctcLink.
  • By mail. You may send your payment to the TCC Cashier's Office, Building 14 at 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466. Be sure to include your Student ID number to insure proper payment. We do not recommend mailing a check unless you are sure it will arrive on time.
  • Automatic Tuition Payment Plan – a way to pay your tuition in installments while going to school.

Tuition Refunds

  • Withdrawal resulting from classing being cancelled by the college - 100%
  • Withdrawal prior to the first instructional day of the quarter - 100%
  • Withdrawal during the first five instructional days of the quarter - 80%
  • Withdrawal from the 6th through the 20th calendar day of the quarter - 40%
  • Withdrawal after the 20th calendar day of the quarter - 0%

Late Add/Reinstatement Fee

If payment is not received by the deferment date or within 2 business days after registration, the student may be removed from classes in order to allow other students to register. Once removed, there is no guarantee the student will be able to re-register into the same class(es). All registration must be completed by the published deadline. Students may petition the Registrar to add classes after the deadline and a $36.50 reinstatement fee per class will be charged if the petition is approved. 

Financial Aid Awards

Application for financial aid does not constitute payment. If a financial aid award has been made, payment will be automatically applied, however, if the award does not cover the entire amount of tuition and fees, the balance must be paid by the student.

Remember, if you applied for financial aid after the deadline or if you had an incomplete application and were asked to supply additional materials, you may need to pay tuition and fees yourself in order to protect your registration. If you have any questions regarding your financial aid award, please see your financial aid advisor. 

If you choose not to attend for a quarter in which a financial aid award has been applied, you  must officially withdraw from all courses before the first day of the quarter to avoid financial obligation. Students who are awarded financial aid and who fail to withdraw may be held accountable for tuition and fees. 

Please consider rating the content on this page:
Poor Outstanding
Your comments about the content on this page:

If you would like us to get back with you, please share your email address (optional):