main photo

Our Staff

Administrative Staff

Olga Webstad, Program Manager
253.566.6020
owebstad@tacomacc.edu

I started my career at Tacoma Community College in September 1990 where I spent my first nine years in several different classrooms as a preschool teacher of young children from the ages of 18 months to 5 years.  With my previous experience as the Assistant Director for a private center before coming to TCC, and nine years as a preschool teacher, I gained the experience and knowledge needed to fill the position of the Center Director of the TCC Early Learning Center in 1999. 

I am a Pierce College alumni where I earned my Associates degree in Early Childhood Education.  My Bachelor’s degree is from Ashford University and is in Early Childhood Education and Administration.  My Master’s degree is also from Ashford University, it is in Education, with a specialty in Early Childhood Education.

After twenty five years I still I find that the greatest joys of my job is to watch parent’s succeed as they receive a degree or the skills to be successful in their careers and in their lives.  And importantly, knowing that each child entering our center will have wonderful memories of their childhood which will influence them to someday grow to be capable, and happy people in our society and who will strive to make great things happen for our community and the world.

Elizabeth Golen-Johnson, Assistant Program Manager
253.460.4475
egolen-johnson@tacomacc.edu

My name is Elizabeth Golen-Johnson and I have been the Assistant Director here at the Early Learning Center since December, 2015. Before that, I worked at TCC in the Early Childhood Education Program as an Adjunct Professor and Instructional Designer for seven years. Before beginning at TCC, I had the pleasure of working with diverse populations of both children and adults for many years, within many different socioeconomic situations and communities. I have experience with children who are typically progressing and those who have special needs within child care, early intervention, special education, and general education classrooms. I have mentored and teamed with professionals in all of these fields to meet their program’s goals and help them to be successful teachers and administrators. I have also partnered with families to meet the developmental and educational goals of their children. I earned a Bachelor of Arts in English at Northern Illinois University and a Masters of Education in Early Childhood and Early Childhood Special Education at National-Louis University (in Illinois). Along with my Masters, I am also a certificated teacher in General Education, Special Education, and Early Childhood Special Education. Just in case my education and experience didn't clearly state my goals, rest assured my passion lies in helping children, their families, and the teachers who dedicate their lives to guiding them. I am truly grateful for this opportunity!

Angela Wheeler, Program Assistant
253.566.5180
awheeler@tacomacc.edu

I enrolled at TCC in Sept of 1996.  I began working at TCC in January 1997 as a work study student, and I did that for a year and a half, and then I was a part time worker for a year and a half.  In the summer of 2000, I became a full time Classified Worker.  I left school for a few years, but went back nights in 2006-2007 and earned by Associates Degree.  I am married to Jon (my High School sweetheart) and we have two children,  Zoey is nearly 22 and finishing her Teaching Certificate and Gage is 8 and will be in 3rd grade this year!

Christine Caro, Family Support Specialist (EHS/ECEAP)
253.566.5317
ccaro@tacomacc.edu

Teachers

Catepillars' Room (birth to 1 year)

Kristen Pleasant, Lead Teacher
kpleasant@tacomacc.edu

Tamara Tyrsina, Assistant Teacher
ttyrsina@tacomacc.edu

Busy Bees' (1 year to 2 years)

Kaisha VonNagel, Lead Teacher
kvonnagel@tacomacc.edu

Sierra Brooks-Sothard, Assistant Teacher

Butterflies' Room (2 years to 3 years)

Kathryn Malgren, Lead Teacher
kmalgren@tacomacc.edu

Charlene Dudley, Assistant Teacher
cdudley@tacomacc.edu

Friendly Frogs' Room (3 years to 4 years)

Caryn Nelson, Lead Teacher
crnelson@tacomacc.edu

Allison Southard-Hood, Assistant Teacher
asouthard-hood@tacomacc.edu

Dragonflies' Room (4 years to 5 years)

Tammy Davis, Lead Teacher
tdavis@tacomacc.edu

Shana Harvey, Assistant Teacher
sharvey@tacomacc.edu

Owls' Room (4 years to 5 years)

Tabitha Curtis, Lead Teacher
tcurtis@tacomacc.edu

Elena Banfield, Assistant Teacher
ebanfield@tacomacc.edu

Additional Staff

Tahani Farrah
tfarrah@tacomacc.edu

Tatiana Moraru
tmoraru@tacomacc.edu

Nhan Nguyen
nnguyen@tacomacc.edu

Zahra Soumaei
zsoumaei@tacomacc.edu

Nicole Strickland
nstrickland@tacomacc.edu

Please consider rating the content on this page:
Poor Outstanding
Your comments about the content on this page:

If you would like us to get back with you, please share your email address (optional):