

TACOMA COMMUNITY COLLEGE BOARD OF TRUSTEES

6501 South 19th Street Tacoma, WA 98466

BOARD SPECIAL MEETING Wednesday, March 11, 2020 2:30 pm – 4:00 p.m. College Board Room, Building 12

BOARD SPECIAL MEETING March 11, 2020 Minutes

Board Members

Liz Dunbar Lois Bernstein (via phone) Pat Shuman Dona Ponepinto Bob Ryan Administrators/ Staff / Guests

Ivan HarrellDon RamageKaryssa MathisonSergio HernandezKatie GullifordBarbara PetersonOlga InglebritsonMatt AndersonTeresa MarshallJulie BensonYolanda WilliamsJohn SandinKeith KingKrista Fox

Martin Hock Marissa Schlesinger

Rachel Payne Blaine Hunt Monica Monk Kim Ward

I. CALL TO ORDER

Liz Dunbar

a. Board Chair Dunbar called the meeting to order at 2:30 pm.

II. ADJOURN INTO EXECUTIVE SESSION REGARDING TENURE

Liz Dunbar

At 2:30 p.m. Chair Dunbar announced that the Board would adjourn to executive session.

At 4:05 p.m. the board reconvened into open session. Chair Dunbar announced the board would adjourn to executive session for 10 more minutes.

At 4:15 p.m. the board reconvened into open session.

III. BOARD ACTION AS A RESULT OF EXECUTIVE ACTION

Liz Dunbar

A. First Year Faculty Advancing to Second Year MOTION: Upon a motion by Trustee Ponepinto to accept the recommendation that the contracts for the first-year faculty/probationers be approved and a second by Trustee Ryan, the Board unanimously approved the first year faculty to advance to the second year.

B. Second Year Faculty Advancing to Third Year MOTION: Upon a motion by Trustee Ryan to accept the recommendation that the contracts for the second-year faculty/probationers be approved and a second by Trustee Shuman, the Board unanimously approved the second year faculty to advance to the third year.

C. Third Year Faculty Consideration

Board Chair Dunbar asked whether, in light of the written recommendation of the Faculty Tenure Review Committee, the tenure candidate's self-evaluation and tenure file, materials submitted to the Board of Trustees, and the independent recommendation of President Harrell, do I have a motion to grant tenure to third-year faculty/probationer Martin Hock?

MOTION: Upon the motion made by Trustee Ryan and seconded by Trustee Shuman, the Board unanimously approved Tenure for Martin Hock.

Board Chair Dunbar asked whether, in light of the written recommendation of the Faculty Tenure Review Committee, the tenure candidate's self-evaluation and tenure file, materials submitted to the Board of Trustees, and the independent recommendation of President Harrell, do I have a motion to grant tenure to third-year faculty/probationer Teresa Marshal?

MOTION: Upon the motion made by Trustee Shuman and seconded by Trustee Ryan, the Board unanimously approved Tenure for Teresa Marshall.

Board Chair Dunbar asked whether, in light of the written recommendation of the Faculty Tenure Review Committee, the tenure candidate's self-evaluation and tenure file, materials submitted to the Board of Trustees, and the independent recommendation of President Harrell, do I have a motion to grant tenure to third-year faculty/probationer Sergio Hernandez?

MOTION: Upon the motion made by Trustee Ryan and seconded by Trustee Bernstein, the Board unanimously approved Tenure for Sergio Hernandez

Board Chair Dunbar asked whether, in light of the written recommendation of the Faculty Tenure Review Committee, the tenure candidate's self-evaluation and tenure file, materials submitted to the Board of Trustees, and the independent recommendation of President Harrell, do I have a motion to grant tenure to third-year faculty/probationer Yolanda Williams?

MOTION: Upon the motion made by Trustee Shuman and seconded by Trustee Ryan, the Board unanimously approved Tenure for Yolanda Williams

D. Fourth Year Faculty Consideration

Board Chair Dunbar asked whether, in light of the written recommendation of the Faculty Tenure Review Committee, the tenure candidate's self-evaluation and tenure file, materials submitted to the Board of Trustees, and the independent recommendation of President Harrell, do I have a motion to grant tenure to fourth-year faculty/probationer Matt Anderson?

MOTION: Trustee Ryan made a motion that tenure **not** be granted to Matt Anderson. The motion was seconded by Trustee Shuman. The Board voted unanimously to not grant tenure to Matt Anderson

IV. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 4:20 p.m.



Interpreters for people with hearing impairments and Braille or taped information for people with impairments can be provided. Please contact Angelique Odom, Office of the President at 6501 South 19th St., Tacoma WA 98466; Tel: 253/566-5136; Telephone Device for the Deaf TDD) 253/566-5139; or e-mail: aodom@tacomacc.edu.